The Waiting is the Hardest Part

IMG_3935

Thank You Tom Petty for the perfect blog post title!

Well after nearly 20 hours, of patiently asking Siri how much longer*, I was finally able to remove the cooled mold and glass quilt from the kiln.  The mold must be broken off of the glass (carefully), which is a lot like a being an archaeologist, although most of the time I wasn’t gently brushing away dirt.

IMG_3936

Because the mold material expands in water, most of it must come off dry, or risk the expansion breaking the glass.

IMG_3937

After about an hour, I unearthed the glass quilt!

Then I put it in a shallow water bath and scrubbed with a toothbrush to get the mold mix out of all the fine detail areas.IMG_3938

Although in most of these pictures it looks glassy, the quilt is still a little wet.  When it dries, it has a dull finish.  This has to do with the mold material.  I can’t sand it, or I’d take away all of the details.  So I asked a few other glass artists for tips.  I am going to try a RUBBER polishing tip on my Dremel.  Fingers crossed!

Oh, and isn’t this the most intriguing color – it’s not your eyes or my camera!  The main glass is called Rhubarb – it changes from green to that’s pinkish rhubarb color depending on what light it is in!

And this is the original piece of the quilt (6″ square roughly)

erosion_sm

*Just for fun, here’s the Cookie Monster Outtake video:

Leave a Reply

