DaVinci in Progress

davinciorigI am working on a donation piece for the Humane Society’s Black Tie and Tails Auction.  I decided that it needed to be an animal – and should be a “generic” animal to get the most attention.  I’ve always loved the style of colorists, instead of using the natural given color of an object, choosing colors in the same shades, like pink and purple houses instead of grey and brown.  So, the pet couldn’t be too serious, right?

I reached out on Facebook for FUNNY dog pictures.  I received a lot of dog pictures, most were pretty straight forward, not necessarily funny.  I did get some GREAT photos with “flying doxies” (dachshunds with their ears in the air while running), but not quite non-breed specific enough for bidding wars.  Although I’m sure all doxie owners would recognize the very look!

Then there’s DaVinci, Jodi Sangster‘s pup.  DaVinci is the PERFECT generic dog for one of my textile pieces – furry, big nose, just that look that every dog owner knows, regardless of breed.

My first steps to this piece are to edit the photograph to have stronger lines and contrast to help pick out the right fabrics.

IMG_3811 DaVinci, edited into greyscale and “sketchbook” with
Sharpie Markers to better define edges.

Then, after tracing with Sharpie, I flipped the picture over and had it copied and enlarged to fit the frame I picked out.

IMG_3813

Now that the basic lines are done, I can work on cutting up fabrics.  I altered some traditional Christmas fabric (it was part of another challenge), as well as a big piece of black for the background.  Next post will be the fabric process building DaVinci Doggie…

Leave a Reply

