Waterfall I

Waterfall I

Waterfall I

It’s been about 2 weeks since I started on the Waterfall. I wish I had taken a photo before I painted so you could see what it looked like with just the fabric pieced in place. Pretty boring and abstract. In fact, it was a little hard to tackle until I decided to paint.

I’m very proud of this piece. I feel like I’ve grown a lot in working on it. First, it’s very realistic. Being close to the work, I don’t know that I would have said that, except that I’ve received some very strong feedback from people who have seen it in person. One even commented she could hear the water!

Secondly, I worked very hard to finish this in a highly professional manner, barring a frame. Well the frame is a story in “you get what you pay for”. I was so excited to find a frame for $8 (the plexiglass was broken). Low and behold, when I attempted to take out the plexi, which was factory glued in, ugh, the frame snapped in two corners and pieces went flying.

The upside, I determined the frame would have looked horrible and moved on. With encouragement that my gut was right, I finished the piece with rock edges rather than straightlines, and used a lot of interfacing to stabilize the material so it could float on a canvas.

The “canvas” is hidden under the piece, making it an odd size. 20×32. Do you know that they don’t make 20×32″ canvas? Nor do they make 32″ stretcher bars (they do, but they are special order). So I picked up 20 and 30 stretcherbars and made my own canvas for the piece to float on.

The full size of Waterfall I is 24″ x 36″. It is wired for hanging, and ready to go to the Omaha Artists Inc selection show tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

I’m going to take a break from 2 dimensional work and begin purses this week.  I have loads of great custom dyed and painted fabric begging to accessorize!  Until next time,

It is life, I think, to watch the water. A man can learn so many things.”
~ Nicholas Sparks

3 responses to “Waterfall I

  1. This looks amazing! Will it be at Smiling Turtle on Thursday? I would love to see it in person!

  2. Dianeos@aol.com

    Love your quote at the end of the Waterfall Blog. The piece is really alive and amazing. I wish you had let me know about canvas, I have canvas (artist type) on a bolt, probably 42″ wide by however many yards they put on a bolt. But then you wouldn’t have learned as much. I want to see it again wi th the “water” stitched in and hanging/”dripping” onto the floor.

  3. Hi Dori. I have never figured out how to respond to your blog on the same page, so I will respond this way. I LOVE your Waterfall piece. It is awesome! I can tell you HAVE really grown. Love love love the rocky edges!! I have been so busy with musical events that I have not been sewing or making jewelry, except to alter some clothing that I needed for the musical events. Hopefully, I will be able to get back to some art work shortly. Let’s all pray for spring to come and stay!! Pat Date: Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:54:11 +0000 To: pdunbar52@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

