Waterfall Magic

“If there is magic on the planet, it is contained in Water.” – Loren Eiseley

Waterfall at Lauritzen Gardens

Waterfall at Lauritzen Gardens

I started last week looking through my photos from a trip to Lauritzen Gardens a couple years ago. I came across this photo of a quiet, meditative spot along the main path.

I decided that I’d try my hand at creating a textile piece based on this photo.  Last week I laid out and pieced in the fabric, and then added some Inktense paints to highlight and give it more depth.

Today I started on the stitching, that which gives my textile paintings texture and brings them to life.  I worked primarily with darker threads today, and did a lot of heavy embroidery work. I am probably 2 more days away from being completed, depending on what comes up this week. This piece will be mounted into a 24×36 frame when it’s finished.

Waterfall after Painting

Waterfall after Painting

Waterfall after 1st day of stitching

Waterfall after 1st day of stitching

One response to “Waterfall Magic

  1. Wow, I can hardly wait to see it for real. Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

