She’s Got A Way

We made it through our grand opening show and reception on September 7th.  Funky Erin and Dude were in charge of cashiering, while Funky Jim manned the food and drink tables.  An overwhelming crowd of 100+ artists and patrons came out to Smiling Turtle!

"Bug Smiling" 8x10

“Bug Smiling” 8×10

I’ve been sneaking in some creative time.  I finished the second piece for the Illustrated Song, showing October 2013 in the Hot Shops. (above)

Silk Scarves 2013

Silk Scarves 2013

I also found some time to hit the silk scarves.  Today, I had a student come in to learn the process.  Over the 3 years I’ve been painting and teaching silk scarf painting, I’ve included a variety of techniques.  Lately, I’m trying to create a more hand-dyed appearance, I think it’s working well.  This week I plan to try some new dyes which are supposed to be super easy

to mix and use.

This fall I’m focusing more of my time on exhibitions and classes.  In addition to silk scarf classes, I’m also offering classes in:

  • Rubber Stamp Making
  • Collographs
  • Block Printing
  • Mixed Media Self-Portraits
  • One on One Sewing
  • and MORE!

Classes will be held at Smiling Turtle and available for individuals and groups.  You don’t need to wait for a class to show up on the schedule, you can call or email to schedule for a time that fits YOUR schedule.

I’m working on pieces for the following Upcoming Exhibitions:

  • Illustrated Song, October @ Hot Shops
  • Dia de los Muertos art show”Celebracion”, October 19-Nov 15, Drips Art Gallery in Council Bluffs
  • Unraveled, December @ the Hot Shops
  • The Road Not Taken, January @ Gallery 92 in Fremont

And I leave you with a little beadwork to laugh at.. you might see them again in a piece for Dia de los Muertos 🙂

Funny Looking Sugar Skulls

Funny Looking Sugar Skulls

Leave a Reply

