Textile vs Fiber

Often when I tell people I am a Fiber Artist, they say huh?  What’s that.  So I thought about changing to Textile Artist. But textile is a bit limiting.

Fiber:

  • A thread or filament formed from a vegetable tissue, mineral substance, or textile.
  • A substance formed of such threads or filaments.

Textile –

  • A type of cloth or woven fabric
    • – a fascinating range of pottery, jewelry, and textiles
  • The branch of industry involved in the manufacture of cloth
  • Used by nudists to describe someone wearing clothes, esp. on a beach

So you see my dilemma?  I don’t want the nudists thinking I’m all about clothes.  I’m going to stick with Fiber Arts.  After all, I do use more than cloth and woven fabrics in my art.

Leave a Reply

